1 Comment

Brevity is the Soul of–Oh, get on with it, would you?

My friend is 100 years old. When I visited her last night, she wanted to talk about Mickey Rooney dying. I started to say, “Well, he lived a good long life.” Then I realized she is 7 years older than he was when he died and thought maybe I’d shut up.

She wanted me to read her his obituary so I pulled it up on my phone and obliged. It was really, really long, chronicling everything from his start as a baby in his parents’ vaudeville show to his 8th wife. When I finally finished, I told her she should figure out what hers should say, you know, for when the time comes. I asked if hers would be as long and she said no. I asked what it would say.

After a moment of thought she replied, “That’s it.”

I asked if that was with an exclamation point or a question mark.

She said, “Both.”

One comment on “Brevity is the Soul of–Oh, get on with it, would you?

Leave a Reply

